The genesis of "Nosthaigia" is as fascinating as the music itself. Onra spent several years living in Thailand, immersing himself in the vibrant culture and scouring local record shops for rare gems. The result is a collection of Thai songs from various genres, all sourced on 7 inches. These short instrumentals serve as time capsules, transporting listeners to a bygone era filled with nostalgia and longing.

Produced entirely on the MPC1000 in 2017 and revisited in 2020, "Nosthaigia" is a testament to the power of serendipity and artistic evolution. What began as a casual exploration of unfamiliar musical territory blossomed into a deeply personal and meaningful project for Onra. Amidst a series of unfortunate life events, he found solace and inspiration in the beats he had crafted years prior.

Each track on "Nosthaigia" is a reflection of his journey, a sonic expression of longing and introspection. Onra describes the process of creating the album as a cathartic release, a way of letting go of old memories and embracing the present.

Despite the somber undertones, there is a quiet beauty to "Nosthaigia" that is impossible to ignore. Onra's vintage production skills breathe life into each track, infusing them with warmth and depth. From the haunting melodies of "Until The End" to the hypnotic rhythms of "Close Your Eyes And Remember" every moment feels poignant.

Onra's decision to "remove all the bangers" from the album speaks volumes about his artistic integrity and dedication to authenticity. "Nosthaigia" is not about flashy beats or catchy hooks; it's about raw emotion and genuine expression. It's a reminder that music has the power to heal, to uplift, and to connect us to something greater than ourselves.

In the end, "Nosthaigia" is more than just an album; it's a testament to the human experience. It's a reminder that even in our darkest moments, there is beauty to be found, if only we're willing to listen.

Item détails
Artist : Onra
Title : Nosthaigia
Label : All City Records
Réf. label : ACONOST
Genre : Hip Hop
Country : Ireland
Year : 2024
Format : 2xLP
Origine : Original
Record Condition : MINT
Sleeve Condition : SEALED
Second hand : Non
Price : 32,00 EUR


Side 1
1. Bkk Blues
2. Until The End
3. Hand In Hand
4. Moment #1
5. Close Your Eyes & Remember
6. The Man Who Owed The Money
7. Moment #2
8. Memories (One For G)
9. Purple Flowers
10. Moment #3
11. Chocolate Thai
12. In The Mist
13. Under The Frangipani Tree
14. Moment #4
15. One More Time
16. How It's Supposed To Be
17. Moment #5
18. Masquerade
19. The Cost
20. You Know
21. Moment #6
22. Old Photos
23. Eternally Grateful

Listen/Ecoute :