Soul Sok Sega

Following successful excursions into rare tropical and island sounds with the ‘Sofrito’ series, ‘Haiti Direct’ and ‘Calypsoul 70’ albums, Strut Records turns its focus to the Indian Ocean island of Mauritius for a new compilation, ‘Soul Sok Séga’. Séga first developed as an insular music and dance form after slaves arrived on Mauritius (then île de France) from East Africa and Madagascar during the 17th to 19th centuries, using Créole language and rhythms played on the large ravanne circular drum, the triangle and the maravanne, a box filled with dried seeds. Séga was essentially frowned upon and marginalised by the Mauritian bourgeois until the 1950s when singer Ti Frère began to play a more Westernised fusion of séga. Through Ti Frère and his contemporaries like Serge Lebrasse, the music began to be popularised during the ‘60s and became fully accepted after the ‘Night Of The Morne’ event in 1964 as the Créole community asserted ist cultural identity. ‘Soul Sok Séga’ documents the heyday of séga in Mauritius during the 1970s as a new generation of contemporary artists broke through. Jazz, soul, funk and rock elements all began to be effortlessly infused into traditional séga folk roots to create some inspired fusions. A talented new wave of artists including Jean- Claude, Claudio, Marie Josée and Roger Clency became domestic stars and began to take the music to international stages for the first time. Meanwhile, cult artists like the James Brown-influenced Ti L’Afrique, Coulouce and Christophe all enjoyed a more brief but important moment in the spotlight. Since this era, séga has now been adopted as the national music of Mauritius and the original ‘70s music is a revelation for any fans of tropical music and world sounds. Strut’s album features extensive sleeve notes from long time Mauritian cultural champion, Percy Yip Tong, including new artist interviews, photos and original vinyl artwork. The compilation is by DJ duo La Basse Tropicale (Natty Hô and Konsöle), based in the neighbouring island of La Reunion. All formats (1CD / 2LP / digital) are unmixed, with all tracks never reissued internationally since they were originally available. An accompanying European tour featuring Ti L’Afrique, Jean Claude and Claudio with an all-star band of original musicians is planned for Summer 2016.

- first official international compilation documenting séga music from Mauritius
- key artists involved in album and promotion including Ti L’Afrique, Jean Claude and Claudio
- features exclusive artwork by Lewis Heriz and sleeve notes by respected Mauritian cultural journalist and promoter, Percy Yip Tong
- strong addition to Strut’s tropical reissue range following the Sofrito series, Haiti Direct and Calypsoul 70
- supported by DJ dates by album compilers La Basse Tropicale with plans for séga legends live tour during 2017

Item détails
Artist : Various Artists
Title : Soul Sok Sega
Label : Strut
Réf. label : STRUT 139LP
Genre : Afro
Country : UK
Year : 2016
Format : 2xLP
Origine : Original
Record Condition : MINT
Sleeve Condition : SEALED
Second hand : Non
Price : 34,00 EUR
Out of Stock

Side 1
1. Ti L'Afrique - Soul Sock Sega
2. Jean Claude - Mademoiselle
3. Georgie Joe - Eliza
4. John Kenneth Nelson - Manuel Bitor
5. Marie Josee/Roger Clency - La Vie En Badinage
Side 2
1. Claudio - Bonom Chinois
2. Les Stardust - Sega Lenoir
3. Coulouce - L'Amour Artificiel
4. Claudio - Bhai Aboo
5. Christophe - Mo Parrain
Side 3
1. Cyril Labonne - Pop Soul Sega
2. Harold Berty - Mone Lasser Dire Toi
3. Michel Legris - Elida
4. Catherine Velienne - Mo Mari Fini Alle
5. Jean Claude - Sega Souval
Side 4
1. Ramone - Nouveau Venu Dans L'Endroit
2. John Kenneth Nelson - Z'Enfant MisArre
3. Georges Jean Louis - Afro Mauricien
4. Yoyo - Coco Mamzelle
5. Christian Tosse - Madame Zean

Listen/Ecoute :