Oté Maloya - The Birth Of Electric Maloya On Reunion Island 1975-1986

Strut present a brand new compilation documenting the groundbreaking maloya scene on Réunion Island from the mid-‘70s, as Western instrumentation joined traditional Malagasy, African and Indian acoustic instruments to spark a whole era of new fusions and creativity. Compiled by Réunionese DJ duo La Basse Tropicale, ‘Oté Maloya’ follows up last year’s acclaimed ‘Soul Sok Séga’ release on Strut.

Traditional maloya, originally called “séga”, described the songs, music and dances of slaves on the sugar plantations of Réunion Island in the 17th Century – maloya ceremonies paid tribute to ancestors and mediated between the living and the dead. The music and culture began to be more widely accepted by Réunionese society from the 1930s as folklorist Georges Fourcade began to play maloya songs. By the ‘50s, maloya tracks were appearing on 78rpm releases and, in the ‘60s, it was used as a form of cultural protest music.

In the mid-‘70s, a new generation began exploring new directions in the music, using Créole language, many were self-taught and learned their craft in 1960s dance band “orchestres”. André Chan-Kam-Shu’s Studio Royal in the south of the island became the main hub for experimentation and collaboration. Most notably, the band Caméléon honed their sound here – with maloya legends Alain Peters and vocalist Hervé Imare involved, Caméléon became the leading collective on the scene, using poetic lyrics and creating their own potent fusion of maloya, jazz and psychedelia. ‘Oté Maloya’ tells the story of this fertile period in Réunion Island music for the first time and features the full spectrum of maloya styles. From Caméléon’s genius to the teenage Michou’s classic ‘Maloya Ton Tisane’, Daniel Sandié’s breakbeat sleeper ‘Défoule 3e Age’ and more traditional styles from Maxime Lahope and Pierrot Vidot, this is an essential trip through a lost era of Indian Ocean blues and soul. ‘Oté Maloya’ is released with an extensive booklet on CD and LP featuring a history of maloya by Nathalie Valentine Legros of 7 Lames Lamer. All tracks are fully remastered by The Carvery.

- 12” INSERT BOOKLET 12pp - First ever international compilation of 1970s maloya scene on Réunion Island
- Includes extensive sleeve notes tracing the history of the culture across four centuries
- DJ support from Gilles Peterson, Lauren Laverne, Mr Scruff and more
- Essential follow up to Strut compilation ‘Soul Sok Séga’

Item détails
Artist : Various Artists
Title : Oté Maloya - The Birth Of Electric Maloya On Reunion Island 1975-1986
Label : Strut
Réf. label : STRUT 151LP
Genre : Afro
Country : Germany
Year : 2017
Format : 2xLP
Origine : Original
Record Condition : MINT
Sleeve Condition : SEALED
Second hand : Non
Price : 35,00 EUR
Out of Stock

Side 1
1. Cameleon - La Rosee Si Feuilles Songes
2. Michou - Maloya Ton Tisane
3. Jean Claude Viadere - Moin La Pas Fait Tout Sel
4. Daniel Sandie - Defoule 3e Age
5. Cormoran Group - P'tit Femme Mon Gate
Side 2
1. Marie Helen Et Ses Creol's - Sega Le Sport
2. Francoise Guimbert - Tantine Zaza
3. Vivi - Toe Meme Maloya
4. Pierrot Vidot - Commandeur
5. Herve Imare - Mele-Mele Pas Toue P'tit Pierre
Side 3
1. Groupe Dago - Reveil Creole
2. Ti Fock - Se Pi Bodie
3. Gaby Et Les Soul Men - C'est Le Meme Cadence
4. Vivi - Mi Bord' A Toe
5. Maxime Lahope - Sous Pied D'Camelias
Side 4
1. Gilberte - Serre Serre Pas
2. Gaby Et Les Soul Men - Oh Maloya
3. Herve Imare - Mi Donne A Toue Grand Coeur
4. Carrousel - Ote Maloya

Listen/Ecoute :